Author Topic: Seat belt stuck in lock mode?  (Read 10757 times)

Offline Blankman000007

• Stubbly Faced
  • Ride: 9906 RSTi
Seat belt stuck in lock mode?
« on: April 28, 2010, 09:59:21 pm »
Maybe im being a complete noob, or im missing something completely obvious but both my front seat belts seem to be locked, and i have no idea how to get them unlocked.

Im using sti seat belts to go with my sti front seats. When i pulled both belts off the car, they work fine. The belt was able to retract all the way back once i unbolted it from the car, but i dont see why that would cause it to lock. So now im trying to put them back on the car but i cant get the belt to move because the safety lock system thing wont let the belt come out. So has anyone experienced this, or know how to fix it so i can use my seat belts?

Offline WhiteRex

• Beards Comin in Nice
  • Ride: Widebody 03.5 strx
Re: Seat belt stuck in lock mode?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2010, 10:24:06 pm »
Ya won't be able to fix them if they were bumped hard enough it set off the tentioner and no way to fix I had that happen to me haha in the same boat.

Offline Sleeper

• Rivaling ZZ-TOP
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 08:58:10 am »
^LOL, noobs. ;)

The reason it's locked is because the belts have a little mechanism that senses a roll over (mimicked when you pulled the whole thing off) and completely locks out the belt. Simply bolt the top seatbelt bolt into the car (onto the slider), and then yank down HARD on the clasp end. You should hear a little 'ping' and the belt should be able to unravel. It has to do with alignment and geometry I guess... same happens in the rear. If you remove the rear belts, until they're bolted into their OEM position, there's no way they'll unravel.

Offline Zaider

• WSC Supporter
  • Rivaling ZZ-TOP
  • <shifty eyes>
  • Ride: Oh look at the kitty!
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 09:49:29 am »
damn. im having the same issue with my passenger belt. ill give that a shot, thanks Sleeper.