Author Topic: Auto-x Advice!  (Read 5839 times)

Offline neverLift

• rivaling ZZ-TOP
Auto-x Advice!
« on: July 14, 2008, 11:19:02 PM »
Hey Everyone,

Thought I'd start compiling a list of things to have/do before an auto-x/rally-x/track event in order to be prepared so you can concentrate on driving. Hopefully we can get more people involved!

I'll admit, I'm still a very green driver, so I hope some more experienced auto-x'ers can chime in with more ideas etc. Post up and I'll edit it in!

I know there are the bare minimum requirements listed in the auto-x sign up threads, but we all know that we bring way more than that to events  ;) Also I'll list where to buy some of the extra and required stuff if I know anywhere.

Things to do beforehand:

- First time to an event? Get a map to the location Google maps is your friend :)

- Read AND follow all instructions on the event thread and if the organizer has a website, check that out too for more info. Example: http://westernsubaruclub.com/smf/index.php?topic=1916.0 Make sure you have all the bare minimum requirements listed.

- Personally, I'm not a morning person, so staying up till the wee hours of the morning is generally not recommended, seeing as most events require you to be at the site between 8:30am and 10:00am. But hey, if that’s your thing, by all means go ahead!

- Prepare the driver. Pack a lunch, food is good choice. There isn't a break (at ASA events) to go somewhere to get food, so its nice to snack when marshalling. Lots of water is a must as well. Don't drink eat too much though! Extra weight :P (Pee_Sack)

- Don't forget bugspray and sunscreen! (xrayvsn)