Author Topic: whats the difference  (Read 1883 times)

Offline renegade_obs

• Stubbly Faced
  • Ride: 98 Impreza OBS
whats the difference
« on: August 10, 2013, 04:07:07 pm »
newbie here. so for the last couple years ive been trying to fix my 98 OBS with a 2.2L . i have since given up and am looking for something to swap in for cheap. the only problem is that the only motors in my price range are all out of early 90's suby's so whats the difference between a 2.2 out of a 91 and the 2.2 in my 98?

Offline seat safety switch

• Rivaling ZZ-TOP
  • Snowmen with fezzes are ardent rally fans.
    • seat safety switch
  • Ride: Junk
Re: whats the difference
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2013, 11:02:50 pm »
The phase 1 and phase 2 EJ22s are fairly different internally but Subaru's famous lego engineering pays off for us anyway.

Phase 2 starts in MY97. There are some tiny revisions in MY93 but nothing to write home about. Phase 2's biggest change is that it has a higher compression ratio which also causes it to become an interference motor. Some emissions stuff pops up (EGR in California is the big one) and the power and torque improves as well as the torque delivery.

As for interchange, as always all EJs will bolt up just as well as any other. Some phase 2s (I want to say all but I'm not sure) go to single port exhaust which necessitates the use of a phase 2 header so you might have to get a dual port header in order to run a phase 1 head in a phase 2 car. That could be difficult with an OBS as they have a special header for clearance but I think OBX made a dual port header that's available - otherwise try to find a junkyard unit that's good enough or see if the EJ25 OBS header fits. Maybe you can even get away with swapping the heads over if that's not the source of the problem on the 98. What was the problem with the original engine?