Author Topic: JDM '93 Impreza WRX - HELP?  (Read 3591 times)

Imprezawrxxx

JDM '93 Impreza WRX - HELP?
« on: March 26, 2009, 06:02:54 pm »
Hey guys whats goin on, my names Josh, Im new to cars, im just getting into them, lol im am also new this forum, so bare with me!

I resently bought a '93 Subaru WRX from Japan, It sounds clean, looks clean, just has a few small issues im trying to figure out.

First off its sputtering at low rpm, its almost hard to take off from a stop now, the sound of my car is coming from underneath and it sounds just very "sputtery" it also seems to almost bog out it sputters so bad when I really giver,  seemingly as soon as the turbo starts to reach full spool, and then i can smell fresh gas. Interestingly it doesnt happen in neutral or with the clutch in, a buddy of mine has a nissan pulsar and says it reminds him of when his wastegate needed servicing and his car was overboosting but this seems like theres not enough gas getting threw or it almost feels likes somthing is cloged, its hard to explain. i've also had a few replies on a few forums saying it could possibly be the spark plugs, but the guy who i bought it from replaced them.

also seemingly less of a problem, I think my power stearing is leaking some where, My car started making this wining sound so i put some power stearing fluid in and now it stopped but if anyone has any idea what this is or even willing to come look at it drive it please do! I also need to know a trustworthy, reliably mechanic i can take my baby to, lol thank you so much guys.

I would really appreciate a few seperate opinions from people that are educated in the area of turbo subarus as far as to what else it could possibly be or how to potentially narrow it down further what the problem could be, im not sure if ive given ENOUGH information so i guess if you have any more questions regarding the cars behaviour PLEASE ask and id be happy to explain further

Offline silent

• WSC Supporter
  • Rivaling ZZ-TOP