Author Topic: Recommended Lighting Setup for Country Driving  (Read 3379 times)

Offline ThroHap

• Stubbly Faced
Recommended Lighting Setup for Country Driving
« on: August 10, 2017, 01:59:33 pm »
I have a 2004 WRX which I'll be using during the winter to venture out to the country on the family farm. Only thing that worries me is the limited light output from the headlights out in the country. Even with the high beams on I wasn't happy on roads without street lamps.

I'm considering mounting a light bar in the front grill. Any recommendations? Brands/mounts to look for? I'm fairly new to this so any tips would be great on DIY setups you've seen or have run yourself.

Offline thedude

• Beards Comin in Nice
  • Ride: 2002 Toyota Tundra
Re: Recommended Lighting Setup for Country Driving
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2017, 02:39:08 pm »
I installed a 32" Auxbeam light bar into the front end of my car and honestly a 28" or even smaller bar would have been fine. The light output compared to even my HID bi-xenon projectors is incredible. I have a short write-up in my build thread on the install.

2008 Aprilia Shiver 750 - Sold 10/02/2017
2013 SWP Subaru WRX Hatchback - Sold 01/04/2022

thedude's 2013 WRX Build Thread

Offline darthekai

• Rivaling ZZ-TOP
  • I CANT STOP POOPING
    • My Webpage
  • Ride: 2002 toyota tacoma 4dr (RTT crowdsourced with NFTs)
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2017, 02:56:14 pm »
I have a very strong opinion about this. Just. Get. Better. Headlight. Bulbs. and turn your dash lights dimmer switch down.
Ultra bright lights on public roads are INCREDIBLY UNSAFE both for you and for ANY OTHER TRAFFIC you come across, ESPECIALLY on narrow, dirt, deep ditch, narrow shouldered country roads.

just get the Philips X-tremeVision or the OSRAM/Sylvania SilverStar Ultra High Performance Halogens and call it a day.

plz.
What man put together, man can rend asunder and then also put it together sometimes what's all this left over stuff
Subaru(sold) Ford (sold) Toyota